Catch double header basketball this evening as Wayne High can be heard on 98.9 FM/AM 1590 The City at Battle Creek. Wayne State College hosts Minnesota State-Mankato at 6/8 p.m. on Big Red country 104.9. All games can be heard online at

Wildcat Volleyball Still #10 In Region

Posted: 14 November, 2013

WAYNE - Wayne State College remained 10th in the latest NCAA Division II Central Region Volleyball Rankings released Wednesday afternoon by the NCAA office in Indianapolis, Indiana.  The Central Region includes teams from the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference, Great American Conference and Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association.
Wayne State is ranked 10th with a record of 19-9 overall and a 16-9 mark against teams within the region.  The top five teams remain the same in this week’s regional poll with Concordia-St. Paul first followed by Central Missouri, Washburn, Minnesota Duluth and Southwest Minnesota State.  Nebraska-Kearney, Augustana and Northern State each moved up one spot this week to sixth, seventh and eighth respectively.  Harding dropped three spots to ninth with Wayne State staying 10th.  The top eight teams in the region will advance to the NCAA Central Region Tournament December 5-7.
The Wildcats close out the regular season this weekend on the road at the University of Mary Friday evening at 7 p.m. and Minot State Saturday at 6 p.m.
NCAA Division II Central Region Rankings (released November 13)
                                                Overall              Region
1.         Concordia-St. Paul (1)    26-1                  20-1
2.         Central Missouri (2)        27-1                  23-1
3.         Washburn (3)                 28-4                  23-2
4.         Minnesota Duluth (4)      26-2                  21-2
5.         Southwest Minn. State (5)20-6                  16-5
6.         Neb.-Kearney (7)           24-3                  20-3
7.         Augustana (8)                20-6                  18-6
8.         Northern State (9)          20-5                  18-5
9.         Harding (6)                    23-7                  22-3
10.        Wayne State              19-9                  16-9

NBA Member 2015